2021-05-10 Official Video: RAISE YOUR HORNS

Today we unleash our very own take on hammering “Raise Your Horns” by Swedish Vikings Amon Amarth. It is one of the coversongs of our upcoming album "To the Power of Eight". Horns up!

Raise your Horns is a very special cover for us. For the first time we approached a song with Van Canto in which the lead vocals consistently take place in the lowest growl register. Hagen takes the lead, Inga can set high, almost orchestral accents and Sly leads the choir together with Jan. It's a song in which a "real" riff shows the direction, resulting in a lot of rakkatakka and bass singing. A great composition by Amon Amarth, to whom we are happy to pay homage!

2021-04-19 Official Video: FALLING DOWN

Check out the official video of "Falling Down":

2021-03-24 New Album "To the Power of Eight" - with special guest Sly!
New Album

We have been silent for too long - let's break the silence!

This will happen on June 4th, when we release our 8th album "To the Power of Eight"! Take a look at a first teaser:

The teaser presents an epic intro of our new album and heats up the anticipation for all twelve tracks in total: Eight original numbers and four cover versions (Iron Maiden, Amon Amarth, Queen and AC/DC). From ballads to proper double bass, you can find everything in there!

For To The Power Of Eight, we joined forces with Philip Dennis “Sly” Schunke, who joins our lead vocalists Inga and Hagen on all twelve flawless tracks as third vocalist and special guest.

Being able to present an album after 15 years of band history, where three lead singers share the microphone hand in hand, makes us incredibly proud. Due to the pandemic situation we had a lot of time to work on To The Power Of Eight and put all our heart and soul into the compositions, the arrangements and the production. Originally we planned to have Sly as guest vocalist for one song – but it turned out to be twelve in total in the end. If someone would ask for one record to present VAN CANTO the most suitable way, we would choose To The Power Of Eight.

To The Power Of Eight Tracklist:

  1. To the Power of Eight
  2. Dead by the Night
  3. Faith Focus Finish
  4. Falling Down
  5. Heads Up High
  6. Raise Your Horns
  7. Turn Back Time
  8. Run to the Hills
  9. Hardrock Padlock
  10. Thunderstruck
  11. From the End
  12. I Want It All

To The Power Of Eight will be available in the following formats:

  • 1 LP Gatefold
  • 1 CD Digipac
  • Digital Album

The album can be preordered here:

Check out our shop for our christmas bundle - VC shirt +1, +3, or +7 CDs!

2019-11-28 Sabaton Open Air

We are happy to be invited to the Sabaton Festival 2020 - it will be our third time on this great festival in Falun, Sweden!

2019-02-25 New shop

Our new shop is online - for all of you who did not have the chance to check our merch booth on tour ;-)

Here we go:

2019-02-25 Festivals!

After our great Tour No 7 in 6 countries, we just came back from the 70k Tons of Metal cruise, which added a 7th country to the list ;-)

For 2019 we already have Hexentanz-, RockHarz- and Summerbreeze-Festivals confirmed - so we hope to meet many of you there!

2019-01-08 70k Tons of Metal
70k Tons of Metal
2018-07-27 Trust in Rust - Track by Track

Check out this track by track video to get teaser of all songs and also some information on how the songs came to life:

2018-07-12 Melody Video

Check out the official video to our upcoming album - MELODY!

You’re making fun of my favourite band with your cover versions!

We’re not making fun of them, it’s a tribute. The bands we cover are our heroes. And to tell the truth: You can’t destroy a real good song, even we can’t. ;-)